• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in Startup Help.

heat Flavor & Heat Considerations: Making hot sauce have noticeable flavor with incredibly hot peppers

About to make some fermented suss here.

The thing is, these peppers are incredibly hot.
They are definitely either moruga, trinidad scorpion, 7 pod brain strain, but got the seeds mixed up.

Can I even make this sauce carry noticeable flavor when used, or is it futile?
I imagine myself and others will only be able to handle tiny amounts on their food.

Thoughts?

+1 to OP's question. I'm helping a friend make sauce tomorrow with Choc Scorpion and Carolina Reaper. Not sure what to do besides burry them with fillers?

I'm thinking a couple mangos, bell peppers, roasted onion/garlic and some tyme. Thoughts?

Also OP, remove seeds and membrane to reduce heat but not flavor. Sorry that's all I got, I'm a noob too :)

Just for reference, I recently made 2 gallons of fruit-based sauce and used 6 large fataliis in the whole batch.  It made a medium heat sauce, maybe 4/10. 

When using the superhots,  a little goes a verrrrry long ways.  Use other non-hot chiles and a lot of other ingredients to stretch the sauce if you want something that can actually be eaten by more than that .5% of the population.

I agree to a point but I have a reaper sauce, reapers #1 ingredient, and it's not super hot. You can still use a lot and tone it down.

I have two gallon ziplock bags of these things and want to use them all.
I guess cutting the sauce with non-hots would help, but it'd probably turn two gallons into 50 to make a difference.

Maybe it's a lost cause...
Maybe flavor extracts would help, but this noobsauce ain't spending money on dat.

These things are so hot they're almost a novelty.
One piece the size of a rice grain sets your mouth on fire for 10min!