• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Habanero Adventure

Hello forum!

I was surprised to find such an activate forum dedicated to hot peppers. I made the decision to begin growing orange habaneros from seed. I bought the seed from Burpee which seemed well dried and clean when inspecting. I do not know good places to buy seed but these were $1 for a good amount of seed so I decided to couldn't hurt to try.

I would say this is my first attempt at seriously trying to father a hot pepper plant. Anyway I chose a very unconventional approach since I am an engineer and always like to make things complicated... yes even gardening :).

So right now I am on vacation in South Florida for a week and found these hab seeds in a local store. I researched the peppers and noticed the somewhat lengthy germination times so I decided to plant them right away. But I am traveling to Tallahassee in a few days so I needed a convenient container that would allow me to transport all my plants in an easy spill free device.

I created a gravity drained container from used water bottles cutting off the top of one to collect the drainage from the soil holder. This should ensure a well drained neutral soil along with a humid hot top to allow for optimum germination conditions. Here is a picture of the design.

get-attachmentaspx.jpg

This was a easy to implement system with zero cost. South Florida weather is nice at inside house temperature of 79 F so the sunlit soil should be around 85 F - 90 F in the sun. This is day 4 with no sprouts yet. I got bored and also made some sandwich bags some with soil and some with just wet paper towel so I know when to expect sprouts. Hopefully I can just throw a cap on these bad boys and put them in my car for the long drive up.