• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Total Newb Question :-)

Hi!

Forgive my absolute beginners question. :onfire:

I'd like to know if I take seeds out of a fresh chilli I buy in a shop and plant them, will it grow normally and with good results? Or is there some special selection and treatment of packaged seeds that makes them grow better? Like with apples where planting any seed won't guarantee a good results.

The reason I ask is because I understand it is already getting a bit late to start growing, and ordering seeds will take a week to 10 days. Maybe it would be better just to go to a speciality shop and buy some interesting chillies and use the seeds?

I'm enthusiastic! :D

It will grow okey, but do dry them first before you plant them (3 day for me), after it soaked with tap or mineral water for 1 day than plant it. cmiiw

happy growing

They will grow but may not come out as you hope. Some of the reasons for this is the peppers may have cross pollinated with other types of peppers grown with them or near them. Often I have seen commercial growers grow their produce in long wide rows with different types in each row sometimes the same kind of crops sometimes not. Another reason that some may care about and others not is if you want a certain strain or flavor as not all peppers of the same type taste the same. And last and maybe the most important for you is length of time needed to produce its crop. Most types of peppers have short, medium and long season strains or cool and hot weather ones. If you are new to growing peppers might want to grow the bulk of them in strains known to do well in your area of the world and then grow a few others of the more challenging ones that may not produce as well. This way you should get a good crop while honing your pepper growing skills. Good luck and you will find many on here willing to help.