soil Soil is starting to cycle nicely

Proud Marine Dad said:
Mixed up six of these 17 gallon totes with the rope handles with soil mix last weekend and they are starting to show signs of cycling (cooking) already. Nice. :cool:

with rain and cooler temps here whats the best way for me too, im gunna be filling 10 15 gallon root pouches.. i thought about 20 gallon but i dont think my grow season is long enough to make a difference between 15 and 20s

Cooking? As in you're composting this? Is this similar to prepping soil a couple weeks or more before transplanting so that the nutrients are beginning to or are broken down for consumption?  (correct me if I'm wrong I'm still very new to this.)

7potquezada said:
Cooking? As in you're composting this? Is this similar to prepping soil a couple weeks or more before transplanting so that the nutrients are beginning to or are broken down for consumption?  (correct me if I'm wrong I'm still very new to this.)
That's exactly what it is my friend!
You let the microorganisms start things going so that the nutrients are available as the plant needs them. The longer the better and 30 days is considered minimum by those who use this mix. These pots are not for peppers, they are for some other plants including tomatoes. I am filling ten gallon fabric 'Root Pouches' with this same mix for peppers.
Balduvian said:
with rain and cooler temps here whats the best way for me too, im gunna be filling 10 15 gallon root pouches.. i thought about 20 gallon but i dont think my grow season is long enough to make a difference between 15 and 20s
The weather has no bearing on cycling the soil. It is "cooking" by bacteria not warmth from the sun. Keep them in the shade and don't over water them and they will start the soil food web growing.

The weather has no bearing on cycling the soil. It is "cooking" by bacteria not warmth from the sun. Keep them in the shade and don't over water them and they will start the soil food web growing.