• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

fertilizer Slow Release Fertilizers

Does anyone use slow release fertilizers like Osmocote in your pots or raised beds when growing peppers? I'm interested in hearing opinions on this.

Chris

I have used the MG pellets that are 10/10/10 for 3 months. I had very good results. I can't compare it to any other fertilization program because that is what I have been using for several years.
My orange Hab from last year was about 3 ft around and 3 feet high full of large pods. I had a Aji Yellow that was 4+ feet tall and had many pods.
Unfortunately I moved at the end of Sept last year and couldn't take the plants with me.

I plan on using the same fert again this season.

I've used a lot in the past, but as I've mentioned before its the lazy gardeners fertilizer, and if you run into nutrient problems it becomes difficult to correct or flush out. I personally like to "read" what a plant needs and feed accordingly usually with organic fertilizers

POTAWIE said:
I've used a lot in the past, but as I've mentioned before its the lazy gardeners fertilizer, and if you run into nutrient problems it becomes difficult to correct or flush out. I personally like to "read" what a plant needs and feed accordingly usually with organic fertilizers

I'm using Osmocote (19-6-12) for the 1st time this year. "Lazy Gardener" label fits me to a tee. Especially during golf season. I think the key is to under fertilize rather than over. I just used to add some bone meal mid summer in the past after they started making pods.

I am with Potawie on this one...I like to be able to control what my plants get and when they get it...