• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

soil Regular moss as a topping for soil

Hey! Just a quick disclaimer: I'm completely new to growing whatsoever and have little to no understanding of how nature works.
I have a few seedlings growing ever-so-slowly on my windowsill and thought to myself one day that covering the "blank" soil underneath with some moss would be interesting.
I ran a few google searches but they mostly crossed with themes regarding "peat moss". My main question would be: how would the moss effect my plants?
Other than making the top of they soil "thicker" and using a bit of the water I give to plant itself I have no knowledge of how the moss will effect the soil and the plant.

Ps. I have zero understanding of how commas work in the English language. Sorry for that!

Moss would make the soil dry more slowly.

PS. Comma works with a slight pause. If you were saying something out loud and you were going to pause a little bit, that's where you put the comma when you write it down.

while covering your soil is always a good idea, (think mulch yes even in pots) the moss would actually cause your soil to dry faster. Moss needs alot of water and constant misting.  It would starve your pepper of moisture.  Even on bonsais they only put the moss on for show and recommend removing it when not showing.  Now mulch, mulch is great!  Retains water when soil is saturated releases it when soil dries, protects the soil from pathogens and burrowing insects, provides habitat for beneficial microbes and enriches the soil over time. I mean not that Im super jazzed by mulch or anything :woohoo:

Topsmoke said:
  Now mulch, mulch is great!  Retains water when soil is saturated releases it when soil dries, protects the soil from pathogens and burrowing insects, provides habitat for beneficial microbes and enriches the soil over time. I mean not that Im super jazzed by mulch or anything :woohoo: