• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

Plant Cell/Tissue Culture

Howdy y'all!
Been reading on advance cell culturing lately (meaning not a cutting sitting in Agar with some nutrients) and it seems as if it is the perfect way to clone plants. the ability to clone thousands of plants out of a single piece of plant material usually making a single cutting is, well, brilliant. the best guide out there, in my opinion at least is this:
http://www.omnisterra.com/botany/cp/slides/tc/tc.htm

From this guide I discovered Sigma-Aldrich's products, which are generally cheap and surprisingly available for purchase in Israel. I started studying it for the simple reason I wanted to clone plants more effectively, but now with my new pet plant that produces no seeds and has a somewhat commercial value, it seems like something I should really do. I get the general idea, but still working out what kind of cells or how many are ideal and what is the perfect cultivating medium is for each step of the way. Sigma-Aldrich sell all the available commercial mediums and macro/micro-nutrients used. they also sell the actual tools and containers you need to work with. seems like an awfully cheap solution for commercial culture.

Are there any people doing it already? if so, what do you recommend?

how do you plan to tackle sterility? i would think you would need a laminar flow hood at least.

edit:

oh and a pressure cooker

how do you plan to tackle sterility? i would think you would need a laminar flow hood at least.

edit:

oh and a pressure cooker
You are correct on the sterile environment/tissue culture hood, and of course a sterilization of all tools in use. the containers, dishes and most other glass/plastic material are usually bought from a medical equipment provider and are already sterile.

i should have read beffore i commented lol it covers sterile technique really well.