• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

chinense Naga Jolokia?

I picked these up yesterday at a local Hispanic Market. The cashier didn't know how much to charge for them, she just said they were really expensive and charged me $4.99 for them.

Are they just Bhut Jolokia?

IMG_6874.jpg

IMG_6872.jpg

IMG_6873.jpg

I am new to growing and was also wondering,

is there a difference between Naga and Bhut?

Whatever you bought, you should:
  • split the biggest one open
  • use the rest for your consumption
  • plant the seeds next season
  • and good luck growin', but luck has nothing to do with it

I am new to growing and was also wondering,

is there a difference between Naga and Bhut?

Whatever you bought, you should:
  • split the biggest one open
  • use the rest for your consumption
  • plant the seeds next season
  • and good luck growin', but luck has nothing to do with it

If by naga you mean, naga morich then yes that is a different pepper than the bhut jolokia. It is in the same family as the bhut but is generally smaller than bhuts. It does have about the same heat level as bhuts but from what I heard it is easier to grow and is more prolific than bhut jolokia.

As for naga jolokia, I believe that is a synonym for bhut jolokia (I'm not 100% sure on that though).

Bhutt Jolokia they are,theres also Bih Jolokia and Dorset Naga.Theres lots ones with mixed up names and `Ghost` pepper is another for the bhutt family,as in brazil some confision with local names used for some peppers can add more names to what is a confused bunch of peppers names. :)

If In your in the U.K you can buy bhutts From Larger Tesco`s about a three pack for £0.80.p/$1.00 and produced in the u.k and there good quality.