• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

lighting Help with grow lights

Hello,
My first post here, and I'm a total noob to growing in general. So far I have planted about 20 varieties of seeds in two 72 cell trays. Right now most have germinated and I now have them on a heating mat in a south facing window. I have noticed that the plants all like to reach for the window, and I've read everywhere this does not produce good strong plants. So I was looking to get some fluorescent lights instead. I've read the best thing to do is to get a dual light with one bulb warm and one cool. I will eventually transplant the peppers to bigger pots which will be 4 trays. So basically I need to have lights to cover 4 standard plant trays. I also figure I'd need some sort of reflector to make the most of the light. How should I go about getting this whole thing set up? Anyone have links for products?

I'll try to find a link for Greenfield's in Niles , Illinois. I see you are in Indiana so if you are in the N.W. part of the state it might be worth the drive.

Welcome from Chicago.

If you're going to be planting them outside then you don't need to get too fancy. Basic florescent lights will work fine. Walmart sells 24" Aquarium and Plant florescent lights for under $10. You will want to have the lights within a couple of inches of the top of the plants. This will keep them from getting too leggy.

Good luck.

willard3 said:
There is also a search function in the upper right of the home page. Search grow lights.

This is always true. I think I generally know the type of lights, just not where to buy them. I guess I am looking for a more specific answer though, basically how many lights should I use to cover 4 trays worth of plants?

roadhouse said: