• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

soil Help me build my container soil

Hello-

Not much choice locally in the way of soil, and since this is my first year, I don't have a compost bin yet (that will be in place in time for next year's planting season).

Lowe's has ONLY miracle grow stuff ... and stuff from company from here in Oklahoma. I am growing organic, so I will use the soil from Green Country Soil.

Here's their website.
http://greencountrysoil.com/soil.cfm

I was leaning toward two or three parts of their potting soil mix (stated ingredients: compost, sand and perlite) and one part manure (stated ingredients: barnyard manure).

They also have cotton burr compost and mushroom compost on this page. I have not seen either of those mentioned in this forum since I've been here.
http://greencountrysoil.com/professionalmix.cfm

They also have a topsoil listed on the soil page as well, but since I'm container gardening, I wasn't too sure how great it would be.

There was an open bag of the potting soil and the top soil, and it had rained earlier in the day, so I was able to get a feel for it when it was completely soaked. The potting soil seemed a tad dense, but keep in mind, it was soaked in a bag with no drainage. The top soil was very clay-like.

All bags are sold in 40 pounds and were between $2-3 per bag.

There also is peat moss available to me as well, so I could also mix some of that in.

Thanks in advance for everyone's thoughts.

I use a mix of 1/3 peat moss, 1/3 miracle grow GARDEN soil, and 1/3 perlite and have had wonderful results. It stays light, yet damp, but not overly wet. The miracle grow garden soil has just enough compost and nutrients without over doing it. I just use 1/2 strength miracle grow water soluable ferts. in it every 10 to 14 days and have no complaints. I also use some Alaska fish ferts. in it every other week also. Just my 2 cents!