• Politics are not permitted. There's plenty of places to discuss that elsewhere, and a hot pepper forum is not the place. Thank you for respecting the community!

music EMI problem with guitar amp?

I know some of you guys play guitar, and I was wondering if you have experienced this problem?

I just upgraded my computer, and apparently (after asking on a sound forum), my power supply is emitting some kind of EMI that is conflicting with the amp. They are plugged into different outlets, and my amp is run through a power conditioner. The noise heard is really shrill, like feedback, only its not feedback. It is much softer, and the farther away I get from my computer, eventually it fades out.

Is there some kind of adapter I can put on my computer? Has anyone had this problem?

I am by no means an expert on electronics, but sometimes an "upgrade" is not necessarily an upgrade. If you still have your old computer, check what form factor its PSU is, and if you are knowledgeable about such things, perhaps swap it into the new computer, if it will cope with your new motherboard and peripherals.

Another option, pls correct if I am wrong, would be to construct a faraday cage for your computer (I think the principle will work in reverse).

ring sting said:
I am by no means an expert on electronics, but sometimes an "upgrade" is not necessarily an upgrade. If you still have your old computer, check what form factor its PSU is, and if you are knowledgeable about such things, perhaps swap it into the new computer, if it will cope with your new motherboard and peripherals.

Another option, pls correct if I am wrong, would be to construct a faraday cage for your computer (I think the principle will work in reverse).

The old PSU is a 480w, and its running my old computer. When I swap it in, it works but half of my computer doesnt run. The new one in question is 700w..

I will look at that cage thing when I get to work

imaguitargod said: