• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

seeds Cooking Seedlings?

Bear with me as this is my first year growing peppers, or anything really for that matter. So I have been using a seedling heating mat under my lil guys and put them in a grow tent a few days ago. I finally put a themometer/humidity indicator in there yesterday. Well, ambient temp was 81.5F with 78% humidity.

This got me to thinking: if its 81.5F in there and the heat mats are adding 10-20 degrees more heat, am I cooking the seedlings? I took out the heating mats tonight for fear that I was cooking them. I noticed that a few of the plants that weren't on the mats were looking much more healthy, but I wasn't sure if it was the soil as I grew some in different mixes to see which produced the best for me.

So what say you? :think:

I only use my heat mat for germination. You can still use the heat mat after that but keep the cover off because your humidity will get too high and cause fungal problems and possibly damping off disease, which kills young seedlings. Once the seedling is up, light is more important than heat.

I agree. If it is already 81F in there, you don't even need a heat mat for germination. Heat mats can get up to 110F if they are not regulated and that will cook the roots for sure. I know they say 10 - 20 degrees above room temp, but the higher the room temp the high the temp it heats it up to.

jacob

jjs7741 said:
I agree. If it is already 81F in there, you don't even need a heat mat for germination. Heat mats can get up to 110F if they are not regulated and that will cook the roots for sure. I know they say 10 - 20 degrees above room temp, but the higher the room temp the high the temp it heats it up to.

jacob