• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

container Container Size and Plant height

This is my first attempt at a 100% indoor grow. I'll be transplanting my Trinidad Scorpion Moruga into a bucket sometime before April. My grow room is in a apartment and I need to plan things out, such as where to hang the lighting to make sure that the top of the plant isn't higher than it.

With this in mind, can somebody give me ballpark figures on the maximum height that this can reach, per size container:

1 Gallon
3 Gallon
5 Gallon

Not sure...but I think it was Patrick that had a Bishop's Crown in a solo cup that was about 8 feet tall no joke. You can grow big stuff in small containers, it's all in what you feed them, how often and grow conditions. Also, you can have a bigger plant, but not necessarily taller or vice versa. A light starved plant will stretch but be just tall and spindly, but one with good lighting will stay compact and really branch out. I had some in 5 gallons at around 5.5 or 6 feet last year. 3 gallon I am thinking 2-4 depending on conditions and the 1 gallon 1-2...all these could be stretched a bit to a little bigger. Best judge isn't height...check the rootball if it's full and circling the pot...pot up, if not wait.

As far as how to hang the lights, use something flexible...go as high as you can and use chain or cord to lower them and raise them, or attach them to an adjustable shelf. The type of light is important too...if you have a MH or HPS it will need to be a couple feet above the tops, where floros can almost touch the tops...