• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

media Can I replace Peat Moss with Coconut peat???

Zonengorg said:
Thanks for the info. I Got a question: Can I replace Peat Moss with Coconut peat???

Sorry, I have no experience with coco peat, or more popularly called coco coir, but would assume very similar to peat moss and can be used interchangeably. Anyone?

Zonengorg said:
Thanks for the info. I Got a question: Can I replace Peat Moss with Coconut peat???

This is a question that should be in its own thread.

The answer is yes and no.  Yes, you can use it instead of peat, but there are some things to know.  If you use coconut coir, you don't need to use dolomitic lime to adjust PH.  But you will need to pre-charge it with calcium.  And you'll need to give it a little extra calcium more often. 

Also, highly recommend that any mix you make with coco that is meant to be used like soil - amend it with 20% compost and 30% perlite.  If you don't do that, then you will want to stick to liquid nutrients.

Coco coir doesn't compact like peat does, and it's re-useable for longer.  Good stuff, if you can get it cheap. If you live somewhere that produces it, chances are, you have easier access to coco, than peat.  Half of the world grows in coco as a growing medium, as opposed to peat, so you most certainly can use it.

solid7 said:

This is a question that should be in its own thread.

The answer is yes and no.  Yes, you can use it instead of peat, but there are some things to know.  If you use coconut coir, you don't need to use dolomitic lime to adjust PH.  But you will need to pre-charge it with calcium.  And you'll need to give it a little extra calcium more often. 

Also, highly recommend that any mix you make with coco that is meant to be used like soil - amend it with 20% compost and 30% perlite.  If you don't do that, then you will want to stick to liquid nutrients.