• Do you need help identifying a 🌶?
    Is your plant suffering from an unknown issue? 🤧
    Then ask in Identification and Diagnosis.

in-ground First time planting in the ground (2nd year growing) Issues

Hey all,

This is my first year growing in the ground, and my second year growing peppers. I just planted these guys out about 3 weeks ago. I was a little impatient and didn't completely harden them off first. So, they did get a little stressed and burned.

That said, I think I may be having other issues. Here are some photos:

And on this last one, you can see some brown areas. I'm seeing more of that on other plants too. I don't have a photo of the underside, but I have some very small bubbles around the main veins. My guess is edema. They started showing that when I had them indoors, about two weeks before I was able to get them planted outside.

My little farm feels like a mess right now. I've seen a couple of aphids on other plants, a couple of white flies, some holes chewed in the middle of leaves on a couple of plants, and some red looking little mites.....DOOOD! I'm just waiting for it to start raining frogs. None of these are in large amounts...just a couple have been seen.

With all of this said, at the base of most of my plants I'm seeing new branches and leaves coming in....looking pretty healthy. Go figure.

Another note: Ground was mainly clay and I amended it with yard compost from the city. Also, up to this point they have not been fertilized.

Yeah, the plants looked like they have been attacked by pests. Bummer!
Looks like this will be a great learning experience for you. I noted previous problems and or mistakes in my grow log book. So ut reminds me of what not to do or what to do! Have you treated the plants for pests yet?
You should try to lightly feed the plant that hasnt been fed. Good idea to add the compost!!!

Reactions: PHB
As megahot said it can be pests, but I never had pests so I can't tell.