• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

lighting using incandescent lights after dark

I'm new to growing peppers (first season) And I wanted to help my plants along as the sun is out intermittently during the winter and the days are shorter. I just put them under this 40-watt bulb at night and it seems to help. The plants lean towards the light. Don't know if they are growing or just leaning towards the heat because I heard someone say that you can't use incandescents to grow plants. Can incandescents help plants to grow after sundown if you can't afford the nicer plant-specific lighting systems?

5434912010_3d7c8af2d5.jpg

Two small containers of habs & two larger containers of thai/kung pao(?)

Not very good. They produce a lot of heat compared to light, plus the light usually has a lot of the far red spectrum. It is responsible for helping plants to grow long stems. Replace it with a CFL and your plants will be much happier!

Mike

Check out the EcoSmart Daylight spectrum CFL bulbs, at your local Walmart. They are in the 5000K spectrum range. I have 4 of the 26W input/100W output, mixed in my seedling array. 2pks are in the $5 range.

DC,

I suggest you do it tomorrow! Unless you are planning to repot the seedlings, then you can wait two days! Seriously, ICs are not good for seedlings. I've heard of their use when plants reach the flowering stage but even then, they are not efficient - too much heat for the lumens.

Mike

Check out the EcoSmart Daylight spectrum CFL bulbs, at your local Walmart. They are in the 5000K spectrum range. I have 4 of the 26W input/100W output, mixed in my seedling array. 2pks are in the $5 range.

Now that is affordable. Thanks for the info :cheers:
DC,