• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in The Food Biz.

Hot sauce making for an Uber newbie...

Hey guys,
Just wanted to make a request of some of the great chili minds on this forum. I am new to the whole chili thing, but am going to have tons of pods from over 30 species this year.

I am reading lots of good recipes, etc for sauces and some occasional mentioning of "mash" and the like. However, no one has given a good description of how to make a sauce from start to finish including the all important aspect of sterilization so that unopened woozies can be stored at room temp over periods of time.

I'm also curious as to this whole mash thing and how that goes from start to finish and why you'd want to do it. I'm not looking to steal anyone's family recipe, but I'd just like a clean easy to understand basic how-to on these topics. I'm sure there have to be some folks out there who are curious too. Thanks guys.

Wow cool another chilehead in Chucktown, welcome. Sauce making is best when you take ideas from a bunch of different recipies and just make your own. I usually use a base of pineapple or carrots and chop all my peppers and cook this with about 1½ cups white vinegar. Sugar and salt to taste and then bottle when sauce is above 195° F then cap and turn upside down. This works if I plan to use my sauce fairly soon, if I want to keep any longer I jar using a hot water bath. Mash is a technique of preserving food uses Lactobacillus bacteria in which peppers and salt and mixed at a ratio about 7% salt to pepper weight. I like that aged mellow taste of the peppers done this way just have to account for the added salt taste. I'll probably have a few extra plant that you can have.:lol:

Hot Sauce 101-

definitions-
hot sauce- anything you concoct that is spicy (but not a bbq sauce ;) )