• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

indoor Tips for growing peppers indoors...

Okay, so for those of you who are reading this hoping for some answers, I apologize (for the interim anyway), but maybe but the time you are looking at this, there will be plenty of tips.

Myself, I'm new to pepper growing and have a few growing outside, one growing inside and a couple more attempting to germinate inside. My peppers last year (outdoors) froze before I got a chance to harvest, which is why I'm attempting the indoor thing. It's going okay, but not great and would love to hear what works for others.

Things I'd like to know about:
hours of light (are artificial lights useful)
indirect or direct light
ideal temperature
size of pots
what about winter?

I've considered taking a pepper plant to my cubicle at work, but am not sure how it would do there.

I grow indoors and outdoors, I find that for CFL or other fluorescent lighting, you need more than the usual 12 hours, I go with 15-16 hours a day.

For vegative growth (early life) the temperatures dont matter unless you dont want to water periodically.

A plant can fruit as soon as a flower appears, but generally you want to pinch off the first month or so of flower development because this will slow the growth down. Also, use a Fertilizer higher in Nitrogen during this growth stage.

When the plant gets to the size you want, you can switch to Tomato food which is high in P and K and less N. I use that and Epsom Salt + Bloom Booster.

For container plants, water deeply so water leaks out the bottom, this is to flush out salt buildup which can be very bad for your plants.

Never water them if the top inch or so of soil is wet, I water when my plants start to wilt.