• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

harvesting Will they ripen?

This is my first time growing hot peppers so I don't know if I'm doing it right. I bought red and orange scotch bonnet seeds and started growing them in late spring in my garage with a grow light (halfway decent beginners grow light from amazon that has different spectrums for grow/harvest modes). It was really slow going so I moved them outside in early to mid summer. I'm getting a BUNCH of peppers on the plants, but now it's October (in Virginia) and I'm wondering if they are going to ripen and change color before it gets too cold for them. I don't have the ideal yard for them; they get full sun, but either early light on one side of the house, or late sun on the other (I'm afraid I'll damage them if I put them in the wheelbarrow to move them around during the day. Should I leave them where they are, move them around and take my chances, or move them into the garage with the grow light where the temperature is moderate?

Thanks! (and I saw there's a tutorial on overwintering which I will be checking out!)
20231007_164133.jpg
20231007_164008.jpg
20231007_163956.jpg

Will they ripen? Don't know...
What I do know is that those aren't scotch bonnets but jamaican mushroom peppers, a capsicum annuum variety. It's a common mistake. Doesn't mean they are no good though 🙂

Will they ripen? Don't know...
What I do know is that those aren't scotch bonnets but jamaican mushroom peppers, a capsicum annuum variety. It's a common mistake. Doesn't mean they are no good though 🙂