soil Soils and Ferts

Trickster said:
1/3 Compost, 1/3 Peatmoss, 1/3 Perlite is what I use in my pots, I'll even throw in some worm castings when I have them.
So if went with this mix, how much and what type of ferts would you suggest or does the worm castings and compost take care of that.  Sorry for questions that may be obvious to many on here, but i am fairly new to growing peppers and completely new to container growing.

parker49 said:
So if went with this mix, how much and what type of ferts would you suggest or does the worm castings and compost take care of that.  Sorry for questions that may be obvious to many on here, but i am fairly new to growing peppers and completely new to container growing.
Well your going to get many different opinions I'm sure more people will comment on this. Here is what I do, in my pots I use my homemade compost/peat moss/perlite will add worm castings when my worm farm has produced enough. then I will start a schedule one week fish emulsion, then kelp the next, followed by compost or worm tea and that's about it for me, my peppers seem to grow just fine and produce pods. 

Trickster said:
Well your going to get many different opinions I'm sure more people will comment on this. Here is what I do, in my pots I use my homemade compost/peat moss/perlite will add worm castings when my worm farm has produced enough. then I will start a schedule one week fish emulsion, then kelp the next, followed by compost or worm tea and that's about it for me, my peppers seem to grow just fine and produce pods. 
Those are some good ingredients Trickster. Parker49, as an organic grower I would say that worm castings are the most important addition to soil.....period!
Good quality compost would be second and yes you can grow on just these two things as your "fertilizer" but there are many other natural things that would make it even better.