• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

harvesting signs when to harvest peppers

So obviously one way to identify when you want to pick a pepper is by its color change....but what if you don't know it's color progression? I know with tomatoes you know when one is ripe if you can pick it off the vine with ease as if it could fall off without a forceful tug or shears. Are there any other signs that a pepper is ripe?

For instance, I have these cream fatalii from wickedmike which is suppose to be unlike any other fatalii and not be hot. I've attached some pictures, but I always thought red is the last color in a progression, but I'm new to growing peppers so what do i know. Is there anything with the stem or some other details that tell you when you pepper is completely ripe? 
20150218_112510.jpg

20150218_112519.jpg

when you say really ripe do you mean still with a firm flesh and a "bite" to it or overripe? 

Exactly what juanitos said. If you have to play tug of war with your plant, the pepper is not ready. The lifting straight up is key, a perfectly ripe pod will pop off with little effort.

That said, those bear a striking resemblance to a red habanero, specifically the red savina. Those are definitely not any fatalii i've ever seen. Take a bite of one, does it have any heat? I'm interested.

I have never seen a red pepper turn cream when fully ripe. Red is usually the final color no matter the initial color.

BigB said:
when you say really ripe do you mean still with a firm flesh and a "bite" to it or overripe? 
yeah sometimes they just turned colors and are say a candy red instead of a deep red and they will be stubborn even though they look ripe enough.

Yeah, those are definitely not Cream Fatalii. Got my curiosity up. Any chance you might have accidentally gotten your plants switched? If not, I'll be curious to see what I get from the other plants. I'll keep you posted.