• If you need help identifying a pepper, disease, or plant issue, please post in Identification.

media Peat pellets in seed starter mix, or directly to potting soil?

This is addressed to the peat pellet crowd.  When your seeds germinate, do you put your peat pellet into a pot/solo cup filled with seed starter mix, or filled with potting soil? 

What I do and have done for many years is to put the peat pellet into a red solo cup filled with my 3 or 4 year old compost. At that point they go under the florescent lights. After a few days I turn on a small fan that blows a gentle breeze across them. I have been starting all my plants this way for over 20 years. This is what works for me.

There is something that is "off" about your intro to your question:  "When your seeds germinate, and reach an adequate height to go under lights…"
You should be putting them under light as soon as they sprout. They need light and lots of it.

Also, if you immediately put a fan on them, you won't have to go through a gradual process to get them used to the "wind", which will make bringing them outdoors all the easier in the spring. 

Think about plants that start outdoors without any human interference - the plant drops a seed and that seed germinates and grows in full sunlight and full wind - 24 hours worth of wind. Whatever conditions you can create indoors to simulate that, the better as you're going to ultimately take them outdoors.

Transferring into starter mix or potting soil…. Most packaged potting soils have fertilizer built in, and that fertilizer is often too strong for seedlings (heck, sometimes the company that makes it messes up and puts in too much fertilizer for about any plant.) Ideally you'll keep them in starter soil until several sets of true leaves form. Alternately, mix a little bit of potting soil into your starter soil.