overwintering Overwintering HELP

This is my first attempt at OWing, I have about six plants that have been in pots for about a month and a half.  When first potted I soaked the soil then set in a room with indirect sunlight and about 55-60 degrees. I have given very little water since then, if i had to guess i would say in total about three to four cups.  Plants were showing signs of new growth after a  few weeks and are continuing to look good. I havent checked on them in a while so last night i went to go see how the growth was doing.  I noticed that the ends of the branches are starting to turn to "twigs" and can easily be snaped off plant.  Branches are also showing discoloration on branches where turns from live healthy to "twig like"...green to brown. My question is what causes this? Can it be fixed, or at least stop any further progression.  My first assumption went to under watering.  Wanted to get some thoughts from people who have over wintering experiance.  

Ugh. Ok, first off is yes, you might be under-watering. If you aren't using the lift test, start doing it now. Pick up your pots and feel how heavy they are - they're probably fairly light. Give them a good soaking until the water runs through the drain holes, then let them drain until it stops coming out. Lift them again and notice the difference. Generally you want to give them a good soaking then let them get fairly light before watering again. The plants will tell you when they need watering by their leaves drooping a tad. Don't let them droop a lot, just a bit, before watering.