View Full Version : Best seed provider and best live plant provider?
Steve973
09-04-2008, 11:19 PM
Is there any consensus about which seed providers and which live plant providers are the best? I want to make sure I make the best possible decisions when ordering my seeds or plants next year.
NatGreenMeds
09-05-2008, 02:14 AM
I have had great results with Hirt's Gardens (http://marketplaceadvisor.channeladvisor.com/StoreFrontProfiles/DeluxeSFShop.aspx?c=103340&sfid=124287&sid=200809050211040000000376025779). The plants arrive in a timely fashion and in good shape.
bentalphanerd
09-05-2008, 07:24 AM
there is a list of who to avoid Steve, theres some real bad seed suppliers out there - best off asking in this forum about a particular supplier before you buy.
AlabamaJack
09-05-2008, 07:32 AM
Beth at Peppermainia is good to deal with and she has some good varieties too..
patrick
09-05-2008, 08:21 AM
I used Peppermania for seeds this year and they were outstanding.
cmpman1974
09-05-2008, 09:44 AM
I agree about Peppermania. Also rainbowchiliseeds.com. :)
For live plants, Cross Country Nursery is my favorite. TheChileWoman is a great source too.
Chris
Steve973
09-05-2008, 03:03 PM
Ok, good. I ordered some plants from thechilewoman this year, and I was planning on ordering from her again next year. As long as most people think that her stuff is pretty good, I'll go with that plan.
kilobit
09-05-2008, 08:26 PM
I too can vouch for both Beth (bayou / peppermania) and rainbowchiliseeds.
Besides those;
seedman http://seedman.com/
tomatogrowers http://www.tomatogrowers.com/
fatalii.net http://www.fatalii.net/growing/
No personal experience, but consensus is on several forums that one should stay away from Reimer.
Davetaylor
09-06-2008, 01:46 AM
i'd vote for rainbowchilliseeds good quick service (to the uk) with good germ rate.
But do AVOID riemers (and warn everyone else about them)
talas
09-06-2008, 01:49 AM
i'd vote for rainbowchilliseeds good quick service (to the uk) with good germ rate.
But do AVOID riemers (and warn everyone else about them)
O yes Riemers makes me shiver thinking how bad they where dave :)
Davetaylor
09-06-2008, 01:55 AM
hey dave your up and about early, do you ever sleep :lol:
alawn
09-06-2008, 02:03 AM
The chili pepper institute (http://www.chilepepperinstitute.org/chile-pepper-institute-c.html) is very reliable and a great place to get seeds. They have some exclusive types. I got my bhuts from them.
I have also gotten some seeds from ushotstuff.com (http://ushotstuff.com/Seed.Source.htm)
I only hear really bad things about reimerseeds.com Lots of people complain that the get the wrong stuff or that they got a cross.
If you want live plants then http://www.chileplants.com/ is good.
AlabamaJack
09-06-2008, 02:07 AM
I too can vouch for both Beth (bayou / peppermania) and rainbowchiliseeds.
Besides those;
seedman http://seedman.com/
tomatogrowers http://www.tomatogrowers.com/
fatalii.net http://www.fatalii.net/growing/
No personal experience, but consensus is on several forums that one should stay away from Reimer.
I ordered a bunch of seeds from seedman.com this past year and was not impressed with his seeds at all...very poor germination rate...less than 20 percent...
Biscombe
09-06-2008, 02:09 AM
Can I mention www.allchillies will be ready to sell soon
talas
09-06-2008, 02:31 AM
You can id be interested..But url isn't working :rolleyes:
Biscombe
09-06-2008, 04:53 AM
Sorry! www.allchillies.com
Chiliac
09-06-2008, 06:09 AM
Nice site Biscombe! Good luck with your business!
Biscombe
09-06-2008, 06:43 AM
Thanks xx I can't think of a better (very small! only me!) business/hobby! If anyone wants to swap pure seeds with any on the site let me know
wordwiz
09-06-2008, 11:08 AM
I ordered a boatload of seeds from Randell at http://www.rareseeds.com - about 30 types of peppers, a dozen types of toms, four eggs and four cukes. Good germination rates, usually far more seeds in the package than stated.
Mike
talas
09-06-2008, 11:13 AM
Thanks xx I can't think of a better (very small! only me!) business/hobby! If anyone wants to swap pure seeds with any on the site let me know
Nice site buddy and some fun variety`s..PURE SEEDS o god don't go there..headache :lol:
talas
09-06-2008, 11:13 AM
I ordered a boatload of seeds from Randell at http://www.rareseeds.com - about 30 types of peppers, a dozen types of toms, four eggs and four cukes. Good germination rates, usually far more seeds in the package than stated.
Mike
Damn fine site and his Tomato selection is fantastic :)
whocares
09-06-2008, 01:14 PM
Sorry! www.allchillies.com (http://www.allchillies.com)
All the luck, Biscombe . I'll see if I have some that you don't, and I'll isolate them for you :) if you want.
Enhorabuena ! ;)
talas
09-06-2008, 01:19 PM
Hes English Margarida ;)
915river
09-06-2008, 01:26 PM
Can I mention www.allchillies will be ready to sell soon
Biscombe wish you lot of luck my friend.:lol:
whocares
09-06-2008, 01:52 PM
Hes English Margarida ;)
But he surely knows what I mean with "enhorabuena" ! ;)
NatGreenMeds
09-06-2008, 03:42 PM
But he surely knows what I mean with "enhorabuena" ! ;)I didn't until I looked it up. Instead of "Good luck", it's defined as "Congratulations". Is that a word that has different meanings, depending on how it is used, like many in English?
enhorabuena
Definition from Wiktionary, a free dictionary
Spanish
Interjection
enhorabuena
congratulations (http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/congratulations)
whocares
09-06-2008, 04:03 PM
:) It also means - en buena hora ! That is literally : in a good hour ! Or "felicidades" : happiness? :)
NatGreenMeds
09-06-2008, 04:36 PM
:) It also means - en buena hora ! That is literally : in a good hour ! Or "felicidades" : happiness? :)Ok, now you're making me crazy! hehe
QuadShotz
09-06-2008, 05:50 PM
And, we can't forget our fellow chilehead TheHippySeedCompany!
I got most all of my seeds and pods from him and they do very well.
http://www.thehippyseedcompany.com/
talas
09-06-2008, 06:05 PM
hey dave your up and about early, do you ever sleep :lol:
Ive been Known to catch the odd few cat naps buddy here and there :lol:
vBulletin® v3.8.0 Release Candidate 2, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.