• If you have a question about commercial production or the hot sauce business, please post in Startup Help.

consistency How to get that gelatin consistency?

I purchased a bottle of this sauce, Grace Scotch Bonnet... it has this consistency that is hard to describe but it is fluid, yet not too runny. This sauce is weak in comparison to what I normally make, but in order to get this consistency that this sauce has I end up making it more vinegary. The ingredients: Scotch Bonnet Peppers, Cane Vinegar, Cane Sugar, Water, Salt, Modified Starch, Ascorbic Acid, Citric Acid. Product Of Jamaica. 4.8 oz

I think it might have something to do with the cane sugar, but I am no scientist... anybody have any advice on hot to make a stupid hot hot sauce with a consistency like this? I usually do purees or ferment, but a nice baste of this but hotter would be great for wings.

grace%20scotch3.jpg

It is a little more fluid than cock sauce:

103041_large.png

Hi zantrax,
none of the ingredients listed should have any effect on the consistency of the sauce. It's probably more of a processing thing. Cook the sauce down, blend it up, make it smooth. If that's not smooth enough, moosh it through a strainer.

sl

edit- just re-read the ingredients. "Modified Starch" is a thickener. Probably corn starch or similar starch. That will make a runny sauce thicker when cooked, but there is also the consideration of texture with the pulp. It needs to be really blended smooth. And to make a hotter sauce, just use hotter chiles. or more of them.

edit- just re-read the ingredients. "Modified Starch" is a thickener. Probably corn starch or similar starch. That will make a runny sauce thicker when cooked, but there is also the consideration of texture with the pulp. It needs to be really blended smooth. And to make a hotter sauce, just use hotter chiles. or more of them.

What about cassava or tapioca starch as thickeners, do they do well in sauces/bottling?